Chocolate chip banana bread

Banana bread has two special qualities: 1) it can be masked as a somewhat appropriate breakfast food and 2) its aroma instantly makes your apartment homely. So when my eyes snapped opened too early graduation morning, I knew just what I needed.

I looked at a variety of recipes online and came up with the following:

  • 1 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 3 large bananas, finely mashed
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup 60% chocolate chips (I used the fat Ghirardelli ones)

Cream the butter and sugar together. Then, add the eggs and mashed bananas. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt. Add to the creamed mixture. Add the vanilla and mix. Finally, stir in the chocolate chips. Pour into a greased loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for about an hour. I slightly undercooked mine (50 minutes).

I’m not going to pretend I know anything about serving sizes.

Refrigerate the leftovers!

IMG_4117

Modifications: I want to try this again with rolled oats, yogurt and/or walnuts.

One thought on “Chocolate chip banana bread

  1. Pingback: Baking To Do List | Eat cake for breakfast

Leave a Reply

