eggplant parmesan

I rarely make savory dishes. In fact, the last time I did was August (see: brie en croute).

Sadly I’ve realized I can’t sustain myself off of sweets alone.

I attempted an eggplant parmesan today, using this recipe as a guideline.

The hardest part for me was that I am used to exact precision when baking. This is probably a remnant from failing organic chemistry lab (read: A minus). To make the eggplant parmesan, I had to use a lot of estimating.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large eggplant
  • 1 cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 heaped tablespoon Italian seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 jar marinara sauce (I used Newman’s Own)
  • part skim Mozzarella cheese
  • finely grated Parmesan cheese
  • dried basil

To remove the bitterness of the eggplant, first cut the eggplant into 1/2″ rounds and sprinkle with salt. Place the eggplant rounds on paper towels and allow them to drain for 30 minutes. Rinse off with water.

In a bowl, combine the breadcrumbs, Italian seasoning, and salt. In another bowl, beat the egg. Dip eggplant rounds on both sides in the egg mixture and then in the breadcrumb mixture. Bake for 20 minutes, flipping once halfway through, until the breadcrumbs appear slightly golden.

Spread tomato sauce evenly over the bottom of a baking dish. Arrange half the eggplant along the layer. Add additional tomato sauce. Sprinkle Mozzarella (generously) over the sauce, followed by Parmesan, and finally the basil. Repeat with another layer of eggplant, tomato sauce, Mozzarella, and Parmesan. Bake for 20 minutes until cheese is melted and sauce is bubbly. Remove, sprinkle with basil, and serve.

FullSizeRender 3.jpg

The eggplants turned out soft and tasty, but I think I put too much salt in somewhere. Also, I was a bit too conservative with the cheese.

In all, it was edible and I watched it alongside the Great British Baking Show.

One thought on “eggplant parmesan

  1. Pingback: Baking To Do List | Eat cake for breakfast

Leave a Reply

