Strawberry shortcake biscuits

I was leaving for Texas (here now!) so I had to figure out a way to use all my strawberries! Strawberry shortcake is my favorite summer dessert, so I made a batch of these biscuits. This recipe makes 12 fluffy, round biscuits!

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 2 & 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter (cold!)
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1 egg
  • strawberries!!
  • whipped cream
Sift together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt together. Cut the hard cold butter into thin slices, add to bowl, and freeze mixture for five minutes. In another bowl, mix the buttermilk* and egg together). Remove the bowl from the freezer and mix (use your hands if necessary!). Add the buttermilk/egg mixture and mix into a dough (don’t over mix!).

 

You should now have a ball of dough. Pour this out onto a well floured surface (I used my kitchen countertop (so messy but so fun and totally worth the hour of cleanup afterwards).  Pat the dough out to about 1″ thickness, fold it into thirds, and path out again. Break off the dough and form flat mounds on a prepared baking sheet. Sprinkle with sugar. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until golden brown at 425*F.
While you’re making the dough, set the strawberries out (washed) and add sugar to them!
After the biscuits are done, garnish with the prepared strawberries & whipped cream!
Untitled.jpg
* I don’t keep buttermilk in the apartment, so I used a brilliant tip: use a ratio of 1 cup milk to 1 Tablespoon distilled vinegar (mix & let sit)

I tend to make very indulgent desserts (nice way of saying sugar overload), so I was really happy with the result. As you can tell in the recipe, these biscuits don’t have too much sugar, so they end up being light and just faintly sweet. I was also really happy with how the biscuits rose!! It was tons of fun playing with dough so I’m going to have to do that again very soon. >:)

One thought on “Strawberry shortcake biscuits

  1. Pingback: Baking To Do List | Eat cake for breakfast

Leave a Reply

