Chocablock {a la The Londoner}

The Londoner has been my favorite blog for years. I’ve been following her posts since back when I was doing IB in Saudi Arabia. I was super excited to try her triple chocolate loaf! It was my first time using almond meal and self rising flour!

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup self rising flour
  • 1 cup ground almonds (almond meal)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 4 Tablespoon cocoa powder
  • 200 g semi sweet chocolate chunks
  • 200 g white chocolate chips

Cream together butter and sugar until light & fluffy. Mix in beaten eggs. Then stir in flour, almonds, baking powder, cocoa, and milk. Stir in dark & white chocolate. Pour into prepared loaf pan. Bake for 45-55 minutes at 300*F. (Will probably come out gooey in center – which is delicious so let this happen).

My cake cracked in the center (not sure how to avoid this) but don’t be alarmed.

FullSizeRender

My pictures didn’t come out as good as hers (look at those!) but it did taste delicious! I loved the consistency/texture that the almond meal gave the cake. Also, it was the perfect amount of sweetness (surprisingly not overboard!). I think I might be growing up or something because I don’t like overly sweet desserts anymore. There needs to be a delicate balance.~

One thought on “Chocablock {a la The Londoner}

  1. Pingback: Baking To Do List | Eat cake for breakfast

Leave a Reply

