{lighter} greek yogurt banana bread

And so continues the {lighter} series as I finish up week one of my gastrointestinal block…

Recipe found here.

I love reading little baking blogs with cute little stories but sadly I have none that are witty or related to baking, but I have this: make time for the things you love and the people you love. As I start my second year, I found myself giving up my weekly piano lessons and baking experiments. But, I am lucky enough to go to a school surrounded by peers and professors who value & push the importance of self care.

I rejoined piano lessons today, committing myself to learn and polish an arrangement of Canon in D I started learning when I was 12. There is something about sight reading with your right hand – and then your left – and then putting it all together that sends shivers down my spine. It is nothing short of beautiful.

And then, the day culminated in this:

  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt (I used Chobani)
  • 3 very ripe bananas
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 & 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 3/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips (& then some to sprinkle on top)
Beat the yogurt, mashed bananas and eggs. Add vanilla & brown sugar till combined. In another bowel, whisk the flour, salt and baking soda. Combine wet & dry ingredients. Stir in the oats and chocolate chips. Pour batter into a prepared loaf pan, sprinkle some extra chocolate chips on top, and bake for 50 minutes at 350*F.
FullSizeRender-1
One thought on “{lighter} greek yogurt banana bread

  1. Pingback: Baking To Do List | Eat cake for breakfast

Leave a Reply

