6″ simple cake base

I got this base recipe out of my Dessert for Two cookbook. I had some leftover caramel frosting from making salted caramel cupcakes, so I whipped up this one bowl base and smothered it with the abundant leftover frosting… just in time to watch the Bachelor (only slightly really embarrassing).

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup & 3 Tablespoons all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup sour cream

Cream the butter & sugar. Add the egg white and vanilla extract. Sprinkle in flour, baking soda, and salt. Add sour cream. Combine all ingredients until just mixed. Bake in a 6″ pan for about 25 minutes at 325*F.

FullSizeRender-3.jpg

(Pictured in the back is my copy of the Book Thief – bought 2nd hand for 4.95$ at 2nd & Charles. I publicly pledge to make a good dent in this book by the end of this week.)

Leave a comment